Escuela de verano/Invierno en adquisición del lenguaje. Summer/winter school 14-18 August 2023 | online

Estimados colegas de AMLA
Durante el próximo mes de agosto se llevará a cabo una Escuela de verano global de adquisición del lenguaje, que tendrá como  Centro de actividad/Hub en México,  el Instituto de Investigaciones Filológicas: Aula de usos múltiples, la semana del lunes 14 al viernes 18 de agosto de 10:00 a 14.00 horas.
Las inscripciones ya están abiertas y estos cursos no tienen costo alguno, pues están auspiciados por el Instituto Max Planck.
¿Podrían dar a conocer esta lnformación de esta escuela a los amigos y socios de AMLA, pues a algunos podría interesarles participar en estos cursos.
Cecilia Rojas

Asunto: Summer/winter school | «Second truly global /L+/ summer/winter school on language acquisition» | 14-18 August 2023 | online

Dear all,

We are thrilled to announce the second edition of the Truly global /L+/ summer/winter school on language acquisition.

WHEN: 14 -18 August 2023 (Online) at three different time zones: 1. UTC+8 (Asia/Oceania time), 2. UTC (Africa/Europe time), 3. UTC-4 (The Americas time).


AIM: The second truly global /L+/ summer/winter school on language acquisition aims to promote knowledge about language acquisition and establish a global network of collaboration between researchers and students. Students will have the opportunity to learn about current theories and controversies in first language acquisition, as well as about basic experimental and analytical methods to implement in their research studies.

MOTIVATION: Although the ability to use language is universal in human cultures, there is a long-standing debate as to whether language develops in similar ways or whether it varies across populations and, if so, why. This debate would benefit from more studies including a variety of languages. However, less than 5% of published studies deal with acquisition in non-European languages. This gap is exacerbated by the fact that many talented students, teachers and researchers in underrepresented areas do not have access to specialist literature, research equipment, or international collaborative networks. The online /L+/ International summer/winter school on language acquisition aims at contributing to reducing this gap.

TUITION: Participation in the /L+/ school is free of charge.

WHO CAN PARTICIPATE: Students at all levels (BA – PhD) and early career researchers from all regions, but particularly Sub-Saharan Africa, South and Southeast Asia, and South and Central America, are encouraged to participate. There are no prerequisites in terms of specific knowledge or skills.
Deaf and hard-of-hearing students are encouraged to apply, as we will try our best to provide International Sign Language interpreters in as many streams as possible. All the lectures are subtitled and closed captions can be provided during the tutorials and discussions.

TOPICS: The lecture topics are organized into four different streams:

1. Phonological development
2. Lexical development
3. Morphosyntax development
4. Effects of the environment on development

Each stream will consist of five 45-minute lectures that will be taught by instructors with extensive expertise in theory and methods in these different subfields of language acquisition. Each lecture will also be followed by live discussion sessions with experts in the field.

STRUCTURE: The activities will develop in an online format that will combine synchronous (live) and asynchronous (pre-recorded) events in order to encourage the participation of students and researchers in their time zone.
When registering, participants will be asked to choose two streams. However, everyone is welcome to attend more than two streams, if desired. Participants will also be able to take part in live practical sessions and networking events.

Additionally, several universities will provide venues for local hubs, where participants can go and attend the online events together.

More information about the schedule and local hubs can be found on our website.

APPLY: You can apply for participation with a brief motivation statement (100 words) by following this link by 23 June 2023.


We are looking forward to your registration!

Best wishes,

The Organization Team

Aireen Barrios Arnuco (De La Salle University, Philippines)
Alejandra Raisman (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico)
Alejandra Sadaniowski (Universidad Católica de las Misiones, Argentina)
Alma Luz Rodriguez Lazaro (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico)
Alvin Wei Ming Tan (Stanford University, U.S.A.)
Amanda Cristina Freitas (University of Campinas, Brazil)
Andrew Ssemata (Makerere University, Uganda)
Belén Troncoso-Acosta (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile)
Bhuvana Narasimhan  (University of Colorado Boulder, U.S.A.)
Bolanle Elizabeth Arokoyo (University of Ilorin, Nigeria)
Brenda Muñoz (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico)
Caroline Hendy (Australian National University, Australia)
Caroline Rowland (Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, The Netherlands)
Chamarrita Farkas Klein (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile)
Daniel Pereira Alves (Federal University of Juiz de Fora, Brazil)
Don Louie De Castro (University of the Philippines Manila)
Elisabetta Latorre (University of Trento, Italy)
Eva Huber (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
Fei Ting Woon (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Hiromasa Kotera (University of Potsdam, Germany)
Janina Vargas (Universidad del País Vasco, Spain)
Jens Roeser (Nottingham Trent University, United Kingdom)
Lahari Chatterjee (University of Potsdam, Germany)
Lawrence Mwangi Nduati (Aga Khan University, Kenya)
Lerato Sefoloshe (University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa)
Leticia Schiavon Kolberg (Université Paris Cité, France)
Line Kippe (University of Douala, Cameroon)
Lloeden Lois Cabacungan (University of the Philippines Manila)
Lorena Molina-Arcia (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), México )
Magdalena Krysztofiak (University of Warsaw, Poland)
Marc Hullebus (University of Potsdam, Germany)
Michelle White (University of Oslo, Norway; Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
Nancy Estévez Pérez (Cuban Neurosciences Center)
Naomi Havron (University of Haifa, Israel)
Natalia Arias Trejo (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico)
Natalia Gagarina (Zentrum für Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft, Germany)
Natalie Boll-Avetisyan (University of Potsdam, Germany)
Nurtimhar Shahaji (Western Mindanao State University)
Paul Okyere Omane (University of Potsdam, Germany; Macquarie University, Australia)
Paulina Aravena-Bravo (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile)
Paulina Meza Rubio (Universidad Autónoma de Querétaro, Mexico)
Ramona Kunene-Nicolas (University of Witswatersrand, South Africa)
Rebecca Dufie Forson (University of Ghana, Ghana)
Rodolphe Prosper Mah (University of Douala, Cameroon)
Rodrigo Dal Ben (Ambrose University, Canada)
Ronel Laranjo (University of the Philippines Diliman)
Rowena Garcia (University of Potsdam, Germany; Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, The Netherlands; University of the Philippines Manila)
Silvia Benavides-Varela (University of Padova, Italy)
Verónica García-Castro (Universidad de Costa Rica)
Wendy Amoako (University of Alberta, Canada)